Exploring Digital Culture

Entries by a MOOC participant

100 days… of Creativity

gratitude
What would happen if you did something every day for 100 days?
They say it takes 21 days to build a habit, and while that may be true, does it stick?  How many times have you made a New Years Resolution? A diet, a commitment to the gym, writing in your journal (well, you get the idea) and stuck with it?  What happened after 21 days?  Did your practice become part of your every day round?  Probably not….
For most of us, in order for a habit to become ‘ingrained in our brain’, it takes longer.  It takes commitment.  It takes discipline. And for many, it may even take a reward — even if it is to feel the endorphin rush.  My team and I at creativist.io, have been sponsoring 21 Day Creativity Challenges to encourage the development of a creative habit.  We like to think that “creativity is a way of thinking that allows you to see possibilities.”  Take it to the next level and creativity is a ‘way of doing’ that ‘allows us to create inspired and empowering environments.”  My personal favorite 21 days of creativity was the “Buddha Series”  .
buddha3.png

For 21 days, I took pictures of all of the Buddhas that have come to live in and around our home.  It is now a screensaver on my computer.  It inspires me every day.  Feel free to download the images for your own screensaver.

So my question is….why not expand the practice to 100 days?

I’d like to introduce you to Libby Stanford.

50aeda8495bb0add4b235f83dab2df0d

Libby is the daughter of a colleague of mine who started a 100 Day Blog: Life with Libby.  “Today one of my teachers gave us a an unwritten assignment, to do one thing for one hundred days. It doesn’t matter what it is, you just have to do it for one hundred days. Something as simple as smiling to someone in the hall is acceptable, as long as you are diligent.”   Libby’s blog is a collection of short stories that have been delightful to read.  Today is Day 100. 

In addition to celebrating Libby’s accomplishment, I thought it would be a good way to inspire others to take up the same challenge.  Libby is a high school senior.  She did it.  So can you.  During the hustle and bustle of the holiday season, why not commit to doing something for yourself.  Something creative.  Something doable.  It’s a great way to learn about the power of perseverance. If you can do something like this for 100 days, imagine what would happen if you applied yourself to other challenges?

“I think back to the countless times I have quit something I started and I wonder how that even happened. All it took to do this was a decision that I would not give up. It was so unbelievably easy, but I know that me from 100 days ago would be reading this in disbelief. One hundred days is not a long time. It went by so fast and I can’t believe its gone.”  Libby Stanford

By the way, creating is always better when shared with others.  Share your passion. Share a connection.  Have a family craft day.  Just create with someone!

What will you do for 100 Days?

Oh.  And Take a moment to give Libby a high five for her accomplishment.

Need some inspiration?  Check out this video from storyteller Ira Glass (courtesy of Valary Oleinik)

#practicecreativity #100days

4 comments on “100 days… of Creativity

  1. libbystanford
    December 12, 2015

    Thank you for sharing this! It really means a lot to me. I’m happy if my 100 day project motivates other people to give it a try’s🙂

    • cathleennardi
      December 13, 2015

      Your stories were as inspirational as your perseverance. Keep going!

  2. sandybrownjensen
    December 12, 2015

    Cathleen,
    You popped up on my Tumblr feed this morning! I am closing in on the last week of a thirty day blogging challenge, and I don’t know how many years I’ve been doing Daily Creates. These mini goals are always great to move our creativity forward. Thanks, and I look forward to reading more from you!

    • cathleennardi
      December 12, 2015

      I love the mini challenges too. I am inspired by you and feel that together we are part of a tribe that is out to revolutionize the world one creative space at a time. I need to write more…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2015 by and tagged , .

Navigation

dudleyhuhs

Living with Leukemia

A Beatles YouTube Album

Beatles YouTube Archive

Comments for Digimatik

Entries by a MOOC participant

Felicia M. Sullivan

Entries by a MOOC participant

MMaherBlog

We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them. Einstein

Entries by a MOOC participant

lastrefuge

Entries by a MOOC participant

That's Great!

Entries by a MOOC participant

Open Educational Thinkering

Doug Belshaw's blog

Ropewalk

Entries by a MOOC participant

In Search of Knowledge

Where left brain meets right brain - critical and creative thinking!

Online Learning Insights

A place for learning about online education

Will Richardson

Entries by a MOOC participant

The Fischbowl

Entries by a MOOC participant

Entries by a MOOC participant

Learning In a Flat World

Entries by a MOOC participant

Gather with Purpose

intersection of community, learning and technology

Critical Margins

A passion for words, on screen and on paper

Gardner Writes

Entries by a MOOC participant

